What is the order of the Theban Plays?

What is meant by Theban Plays?

Theban plays. The Theban plays comprise three plays: Oedipus Rex (also called Oedipus Tyrannus or Oedipus the King), Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone. All three concern the fate of Thebes during and after the reign of King Oedipus.

In what order did Sophocles write the Oedipus trilogy?

Of Sophocles’ three Theban plays that have survived, and that deal with the story of Oedipus, Oedipus Rex was the second to be written, following Antigone by about a dozen years. However, in terms of the chronology of events described by the plays, it comes first, followed by Oedipus at Colonus and then Antigone.

Why is Oedipus set in Thebes?

To learn the truth, Oedipus sends for the only living witness to the murder, a shepherd. Another worry haunts Oedipus. As a young man, he learned from an oracle that he was fated to kill his father and marry his mother. Fear of the prophecy drove him from his home in Corinth and brought him ultimately to Thebes.

What is the plot of Antigone?

The story follows the attempts of Antigone to bury the body of her brother going against the decision of her uncle and placing her relationship with her brother above human laws.