What is the Whare Tapa Wha model?

Te whare tapa whā is a model of the 4 dimensions of wellbeing developed by Sir Mason Durie in 1984 to provide a Māori perspective on health. The 4 dimensions are: taha tinana (physical wellbeing) taha hinengaro (mental wellbeing) taha wairua (spiritual wellbeing)

What is the purpose of Te whare Tapa Wha model?

The model describes health and wellbeing as a wharenui/meeting house with four walls. These walls represent taha wairua/spiritual wellbeing, taha hinengaro/mental and emotional wellbeing, taha tinana/physical wellbeing and taha whānau/family and social wellbeing.

What are the 4 pillars of hauora?

Hauora: the four pillars of health

  • Taha Tinana: (Physical well-being). This incorporates the physical body and how it moves, grows and develops.
  • Taha Hinengaro: (Mental and emotional well-being).
  • Taha Whanau: (Social well-being).
  • Taha Wairua: (Spiritual well-being).

What does Taha Hinengaro mean within the Te whare Tapa WHĀ model of health?

Te whare tapa whā The Fonofale model of health. Taha tinana – physical wellbeing. Taha hinengaro – mental wellbeing. Taha whānau – family, community and social wellbeing.

What is hauora Māori models of health and wellbeing?

In Te Ao Maori, a holistic view of health and wellbeing, known as hauora is paramount. It comprises taha tinana (physical well-being), taha hinengaro (mental and emotional well-being), taha whanau (social well-being), and taha wairua (spiritual well-being) (Ministry of Education).

Why is Te whare Tapa Wha important in early childhood?

Te Whare Tapa Whā is a model we can use to understand health and wellbeing. Think of your life like a whare (house) – or ‘meeting house’ – which has four walls to help it stand tall and strong. Each wall represents an area of your life that contributes to you feeling good!

Why Māori health models are important?

Culturally-based models of health and wellbeing provide indicators of important cultural values, concepts and practices and processes. These can then inform the development of a Māori-centred relational model of care to address inequity.

What are the 3 principles that apply to Māori health?

The three Treaty principles identified by the 1988 Royal Commission on Social Policy – partnership, participation and active protection – provide a guide to practical and effective use of the framework at all levels of the health sector.

What are the 5 elements of wellbeing?

The Gallup research revealed ‘five universal, interconnected elements that shape our lives’: Career Wellbeing, Social Wellbeing, Financial Wellbeing, Physical Wellbeing and Community Wellbeing.

What are 5 wellbeing methods?

Overview of Te Whare Tapa Whā | Ministry of Health NZ

What is the purpose of hauora?

Health and wellbeing are important aspects in our life. Hauora is a Māori view of health unique to New Zealand, and covers the physical, mental, social and spiritual needs that everyone has. Māori believe that each of these 4 concepts supports the others.

Why is the Meihana model important?

The Meihana model builds on the work of other Māori health models and is specifically designed to support health practitioners to gain a fuller understanding of the presenting complaint and the context of the patient and whānau.