Who is Dr Milton Bennett?

Who created the Dmis model?

Dr. Milton Bennett

The Developmental Model of Intercultural Sensitivity (DMIS) was created by Dr. Milton Bennett (1986, 1993, 2004, 2013) as a framework to explain how people experience and engage cultural difference.

What are the six stages of Milton Bennett’s developmental model of Intercultural Sensitivity?

The six developmental stages of intercultural communication and sensitivity:

  • Denial.
  • Defense.
  • Minimization.
  • Acceptance.
  • Adaptation.
  • Integration.