Characteristic scale degrees

What are the 7 scale degrees?

Each note of a major scale is also named with scale-degree names : tonic, supertonic, mediant, subdominant, dominant, submediant, and leading tone.

What are degrees in a scale?

Scale degrees are the number values assigned to the steps of the musical scale. In typical seven note scales like the major scale and minor scale, the scale degrees are numbered from 1 to 7, beginning on the tonic and ending on the leading tone.

How do you find the scale degree?

How do you find the scale degree?

  1. The most basic way to understand scale degree names is to begin with one of the most fundamental scales in piano: the C major scale.
  2. The C major scale is spelled: C – D – E – F – G – A – B – C.
  3. The mediant is the third degree of the scale.