What happened to Dwight Clark of the 49ers?

After nine seasons with the 49ers, Clark retired following the 1987 season. He was a member of two Super Bowl-winning teams (XVI and XIX). To honor his contribution to 49ers, the club retired his #87 in 1988.

What caused Dwight Clark’s death?

SANTA CLARA, Calif. — Dwight Clark, the receiver who made one of the most memorable plays in NFL history and jump-started the San Francisco 49ers dynasty, died Monday at his home in Montana.

What disease does Dwight Clark have?


The strength, perseverance and grace with which he battled ALS will long serve as an inspiration to so many. Dwight will always carry a special place in our hearts and his legacy will live on as we continue to battle this terrible disease.”

Who was Joe Montana’s favorite receiver?

Montana and legendary receiver Jerry Rice dominated the NFL during Montana’s tenure as the starter. The pair connected for 386 receptions, 6,710 yards and 67 touchdowns in 77 games.

How long did Dwight Clark have ALS?

Clark announced he had ALS in March 2017, but had been experiencing symptoms for two years before that. “With my husband, it started in his right hand and he was a high school coach and a teacher,” recalled Lucy Wedemeyer, of Los Gatos, who is active as an advisory trustee with the ALS Association, Golden West Chapter.

Where is Dwight Clark buried?

It is only fitting that Clark, who died last month at the age of 61, is memorialized that way. Clark’s ashes are buried under a stone with flowers and a small tree in Eddie Debartolo’s yard at his Montana ranch.

Where is Dwight Clark now?

Of all the impressive receptions ever made in the 100 years of the NFL, only Clark’s reception from Joe Montana is called “The Catch.” He played his entire career for the San Francisco 49ers before retiring after the 1987 season. Sadly, he died a couple of years ago after a short battle with ALS.

Why is the catch so famous?

“The Catch” launched San Francisco into one of the best dynasties in NFL history. The Niners would win four of the next eight Super Bowls, ultimately finishing with five titles. Dallas would go on to lose the following year’s NFC Championship game to Washington, marking their third consecutive year losing in that game.