The 5 Shapes of a key

What are the 5 scale shapes?

The five C-A-G-E-D scale shapes (C shape, A shape, G shape, E shape and D shape) surround the entire fretboard. The “shapes” are sometimes also referred to as “positions”.

What are the 5 minor pentatonic shapes?

This is note that gives the scale its note name.

  • For example. Look at Pattern 1 below and notice that the R is on the 6th string (played with the Finger 1). …
  • Pattern 1 (CAGED Shape E)
  • Pattern 2 (CAGED Shape D)
  • Pattern 3 (CAGED Shape C)
  • Pattern 4 (CAGED Shape A)
  • Pattern 5 (CAGED Shape G)

What are chord shapes?

The five basic chord shapes are open C, A, G, E, and D chords. Together they spell the word CAGED which helps us remember them.